The IGNITE project is generously funded by Horizon 2020 through Connect 2017 under the auspices of the Media Policy, Audiovisual Industry and Media Support Programme. IGNITE brings together researchers and design professionals from four institutions in three countries with expertise in design theory and practice,  online education, digital humanities and cultural heritage.


Participating institutions

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Maastricht University, Coordinator)

Austrian Academy of Science (OeAW) / Austrian Centre for Digital Humanities (ACDH-OeAW)

Center for Teaching Development and Digital Media (Aarhus University)

School for Communication and Culture (Aarhus University)

Cube Design Museum (Museumplein, Kerkrade)



Previous Participating institutions

Centre for Digital Humanities (Maynooth University, Coordinator)

Ideas Lab, Filmby Aarhus (FBA)



Susan Schreibman (Coordinator) is a Professor of Digital Arts & Culture at Maastricht University, Netherlands. She was the Coordinator of the Erasmus + #dariahTeach grant.

Matej Ďurčo is head of the ACDH-OeAW’s technical working group “Tools, Services & Systems” and was one of the key figures in founding the institute. Since 2009, he has been part of the Austrian research infrastructures core group, contributing substantially to the development of key technical components, including #dariahTeach.

Marianne Huang is Associate Professor at School for Communication and Culture, Aarhus University (AU), and serves as academic officer for cultural creative collaborations and digital cultures with Faculty of Arts. She is currently collaborating on more.creative, Creative Ring Europe, and Filmby Aarhus to enhance digital innovation in capacity building for the cultural creative sector.

Konstantinos Papadopoulos is an Assistant Professor in Digital Humanities & Culture Studies a Maastricht University, Netherlands. Dr Papadopoulos specialises in digital archaeology and heritage, primarily in 3D recording, visualisation, simulation, and analysis of spaces and artefacts.

Tanja Wissik is a senior researcher at the Austrian Academy of Sciences and a lecturer at the University of Graz. She holds a PhD from the University of Vienna in translation studies with a specialisation in the field of terminology and corpus linguistics.  She was involved in #dariahTeach project.

Claus Toft-Nielsen is lecturer at the School of Communication and Culture, Aarhus University. He specialises in educational design and has published widely on playful learning in higher education. Since 2017, he has been a member of the ‘gameful & playful higher education’ project.

Rikke Toft Nørgård is associate professor at the Center for Teaching Developments and Digital Media, Aarhus University. Her field of research lies within ‘futuremaking through design thinking and new technologies in education,’ new educational potentials with new technologies and media, and development of ‘educational design thinking’. Rikke holds a PhD in digital gameplay with a focus on the gameplayer’s interaction with and experience of gameplay design and technology.

Jeanette Falk Olesen is a PhD Fellow at School of Communication and Culture, Aarhus University. Her research focuses on game jams and hackathons within a design context, analysing how these time-limited design events influence the participants’ design processes.

Shiro Inoue is a Post-doc researcher at the University of Maastricht and is working on the IGNITE project. He has been involved in a number of design research activities and professional design practices in various countries (Japan, UK, the Netherlands and Denmark).

Anna Woldrich is a communication expert at the Austrian Centre for Digital Humanities, managing and monitoring online and offline communication activities and events of various projects.
She graduated at Universität Wien/Università degli Studi di Siena in the field of mass media and communication studies, focussing on broadcasting, marketing, communication research and
communication theory.

Yleen Simonis is a project manager at the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (FASoS) at Maastricht University. She provides support for various EC-funded research projects and as such is involved in the IGNITE project

Mikey Bruun Andersen is a platform developer at the Centre for Teaching Development and Digital Media, Aarhus Universities specializing in educational technology and development. He is doing platform development on several projects, notably the IGNITE course Game.Play.Design in the Arts and Humanities. He is also the head of Coding Pirates Aarhus, an organization of coding clubs where volunteers (many of them HE students) organize game jams and support youngsters in programming and designing games.

Anja Anja Köppchen has been co-developing and coordinating Cube design museum’s In Residence Programme as coordinator of the Cube design labs, coaching students and young designers since 2015. She helps students to shape their own design practice using design thinking in the context of societal challenges, contributes to meaningful and educational ways of exhibiting the design process within the context of the museum and explores the changing role of the museum for a changing society. Anja has a multi-disciplinary background. In 2014 she successfully defended her PhD thesis at Radboud University, combining insights from economic geography, cultural studies, and fashion theory, to understand the relations between design and production at a distance. At the Amsterdam Fashion Institute, she coaches and assesses (International) Fashion & Management students during their bachelor graduation projects.

Guido Stompff is a designer and gained his PhD at TU Delft on design thinking in teams and organizations. He also coaches managers to get innovation going, trains students and start-ups in the Cube design labs and Brightlands Innovation Factory. ” Guido gets his inspiration from the world and people around him. He worked with the most innovative people in the Netherlands, at a company with an R&D of over 1300 people who work on high-tech products and services. There he also conducted his research for his PhD, which he completed in 2012. Guido is the author of the extremely successful management book “Design thinking, radical change in small steps.”

Gène Bertrand has worked for more than 35 years in the field of museums and science centres in different jobs and with different responsibilities. He has a background in culture, media, education and PR/marketing. Since 2007 Gène is responsible for program development, and was strongly involved in the development of the new venues at the Museumplein Limburg. At present, he is responsible for the development of the living labs, part of the Cube Design Museum, and the methodologies used in these labs. Further he is co-responsible for the program development of the three venues at Museumplein Limburg which are the Cube design museum, Continium discovery centre and Columbus earth centre as well as (international) co-operations/projects.

Ricki Hogaard holds an MA in ICT-based Educational Design. He is a Research Assistant with Aarhus University, doing R&D in the field of XR & creating educational material for IGNITE. Boarding school teacher in TECH and Entrepreneurship at the Danish NNY-Efterskolen for Iværksætteri (Youth Education bridging lower and upper secondary level, the NNY-Efterskole is the only school in DK offering innovation and entrepreneurship in this format). Founder and developer at Taleshapers, Filmby Aarhus doing virtual preservation of urban and rural heritage/post-industrial sites and landmarks for sustainable re-purposing of cultural heritage.


Irene Nørgård
Nicole Ertl
Ricki Hogaard

We would also like thank and credit the designers and artists whose work we have used free of charge.